Month: March 2012

  • I often find myself needing to do things in which I don't feel particularly gifted. This applies to cooking and administrative tasks, especially. It's tempting to just, somehow, wiggle out of them, but that's not always an option! We do need to eat, and yes, I do like to have people over and make them feel welcome - even though the preparation isn't necessarily where I shine the most. And, let's face it - things and events and papers and other to-do's need to be created and organized, delegated and accomplished,
    in order for other, perhaps more noteworthy, goals to be met.

    So, the bottom line is that just about every day, I need to do things that don't "fulfill" me or make me feel particularly competent. I suppose this is all good.
    It makes me dependent, and I suspect that is exactly where God would have me linger.

    "When our tasks are performed without a sense of God's direction and help,
    then we walk a difficult and lonely road.
    To seek to serve others without God's direction and sustenance
    will probably embitter us."
    ~ C. Ringma


    Okay, so the goal is to do it all with Him, garnering what I need to do it, from Him.
    It is to think less and less about what I'd prefer and like....to let His companionship transform the very necessary and inglorious things that make me uncomfortable,
    into those things that please Him, and love others.


    "The Lord kept working with them...." Mk 16:20
    "My yoke...is gracious and pleasant and My burden is light and easy to be borne." Mt 11:30

    ************

    Now, here's an existence that, for me,
    would require daily dependency and close intimacy with my Creator:




    (South-central Washington. Truly in the middle of no where.)


    We never tire of the glimpses we get of our mountain.
    They make ordinary days extraordinary.


     
    Mt. Hood. She plays hide and seek much of the time.

    And, there's glory to be found in even the rather lackluster days. 
    On the Columbia River Gorge:



  • Greetings from the Northwest...where it's finally starting to look like spring, even though we had a snow day last week! We've been here for 19 & 1/2 months now. It doesn't seem possible in so many ways....we're still waiting for that "Ah, I'm at home" feeling. Sometimes I wonder if we'll ever have it. The truth is, we are not at home on this earth, and never will be. We really are wayfarers and were created for somewhere much more perfect than what this life offers. But, in the meantime, we're grateful for all the ways the Lord has helped us to transition to a new leg of the journey, here in Oregon.

    Of course, it's still hard to be so far away from our kids. And, I suppose that will never lessen. However, it sure makes us grateful when we have time together.

    These shots were taken over Christmas. At the coast, of course:



    From left to right:

    Katie, with her guy, Zach. (They live in Houston, TX, serving in the inner city there.)
    Trish, with her guy, Rob.
    Heidie, with her guy, Riley. (He's in college, about an hour away.)
    Jonathan, with his girl, Katelyn. (To be married this August, back in PA.)



    The girls. You can see we've added in Jenny.




    And, back home....with Jesse.


    Everyone was with us for at least some time over the holidays, except for my oldest, Josh, and his lovely Kirsten. But we will see them soon in Utah, when we both attend a wedding!

    I've decided that we are in an extended season of transitioning - not just the huge move across the country, and the letting go of old relationships and the forging of new ones, but the equally huge move of our increasingly emptying nest. To be honest - I find it very challenging. It's like a whole new redefining of who I am. But, I'm rather thinking we shouldn't evaluate it all too much, until that process is
    closer to completion in another couple of years. 

    In the meantime - the goal is to be flexible, be grateful, keep my hands and heart open, keep my eyes fixed on Jesus.
    It should be my governing mantra during this season.

    "Clinging too much to our desires easily prevents us
    from being what we ought to be and can be." ~ D. Bonhoeffer


    "Lord, all my desire is before You." Ps 38:9
    "I have no delight or desire on earth besides You." Ps 73: 25

    If my desires become increasingly God's desires - for both me and those I love -
    I think that there would be a lot more peace all around.

    "We can have a full life even when we haven't got everything we want." ~ D. Bonhoeffer

    "God's peace shall be yours....fearing nothing...and being content with [your] earthly lot of whatever sort that is...I have learned how to be content - satisfied to the point where I am not disturbed or disquieted in whatever state I am." Phil 4: 7, 11

    Yes, Oh God - get me there. That would be a transition well worth making.

    Our lovely coastline, which we never tire of visiting....




Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories