November 15, 2011

  • Wow. Looks like we've been busy! The last few weeks have held: various meetings, costume sewing, a short visit from my brother, a couple funerals, making applesauce, feeding the homeless, distributing food boxes, long talks with far away friends, a weekly community dinner, a couple days of having my youngest son home, school activities....and, of course,
    just life and its daily chores, per usual.
    I've certainly had no problem keeping busy since the girls have gone off to nearly full days at school. I do miss them, though, and am very much still adjusting to this new life of mine.

    ***********
    "Only he who gives thanks for little things receives the big things." ~ D. Bonhoeffer

    "At all times, and for everything, giving thanks...." Eph 5:20

    I'm still very much in the school of learning gratitude. It really does change my days when I can do it. Even for the smallest of things.
    Like a late season primrose in the front yard, colorful leaves flying about town, early morning mist.....when we see and appreciate His grace in the little things,
    He lives in the ordinary moments, and they become extraordinary.

    ***********

    We did some climbing this summer. It was glorious.

    This lookout is only about half an hour or 40 minutes from our house. Amazing.

    We also did some camping. This is up on Washington's Olympic Peninsula. A pure delight.

    We visited the coastline of the Olympic Peninsula:

    And saw some of its more colorful inhabitants:

    I'm so grateful for the lovely experiences we've been able to soak in since moving here.

Comments (2)

  • You have been busy, Trish!  I'm so happy that you did the Olympic Peninsula -- it was one of my favorite spots when I lived in Seattle!And what a view of the mountain (Mt. Hood?)!  Good to see you here!

  • You are blessed Trish to live in a so wonderful place but you are really busy with all kinds of things . I presume many of those activities are linked to the Church .
    You ask about the house :  they are building a house to live year round .It will not be a vacation home . I titled the old "cottage" ( le vieux chalet ) because their adventure makes me think of the song "le vieux chalet " ( old cottage ) whom the words say what has happened to them and what they did and have to do yet to restore it totally.
    The portrait you saw on the picture is one I bought 42 years ago and not made by me .

    Thanks for your visit Trish . It is such a pleasure for me .

    Love                              Michel

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories