June 5, 2012

  • It’s raining here. Often. And bountifully. Summer hasn’t totally settled in yet.
    The girls still have 8 more days of school, after today, so I guess it’s fine that vacation weather hasn’t truly landed in full force yet. I grew up in upstate NY and can so readily remember sweltering in school gyms as we took our annual Regents Exams at the end of every school year, all throughout highschool. No air conditioning, sometimes noisy fans. Intense stress causing your palms to sweat all over sticky papers and number 2 pencils. Sniffs and sighs and surreptitious glances around the crowded room.
    That last day of school couldn’t come soon enough.

    My, oh my….

    **************
    “We pray anew every day, when we open our eyes in the morning and when we close them at night, that God will enlighten the eyes of the heart.” ~ D. Bonhoeffer

    “Lord, I want to see,” is probably one of my most recurrent prayers. See Him when He seems hidden. See truth when lies abound. See beauty when my heart is tempted to focus on what is hard and challenging. See His image in every face. See myself as He sees me.

    “I pray that your hearts will be flooded with light so that you can understand…” Eph 1:18

    I’m fascinated that seeing is more of a heart issue than a thought matter.
    Yes, Lord. Change my heart, again.

    **************
    These are from our Easter trip to Utah. I never tire of western skies.


     

    So much worth seeing….

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories